Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Art Studio: Ombre Watercolors Column

5 Comments

art-studio

 

Hello there! It’s Caroli here with my first post using the beautiful kit Swan Lake, featuring gorgeous Gather collection by Maggie Holmes.

ck-swan-lake-kit-main

 

I love mix media but since my style is rather clean and very simple I don’t use it that much on my projects. But, I love watercolors and how they look on scrapbooking, so I though why not adjusting them to my own style? Today I want to show you a simple idea I had for making a pretty watercolors ombré background for my layout.

I love anything ombré and watercolors are a great way to get an ombré effect easily. Although I love the free and wild look of watercolors, I had in my mind the idea of an ombré column with clear borders, so I’ll show you what I did.

First, I used some washi tape to delimit the area where the ombré column will be. In order to avoid the paper get damaged, I sticked the washi tape to a pillow few times to make it less sticky before adhere it to my cardstock.

cliquekits_artstudio_swanlake_carolischulz

 

Once I had my area clearly defined, I just watercolored the paper. Something I love about this kit is all the shades of pink and coral of the papers, so I decided to use this palette for my ombré.

cliquekits_artstudio_swanlake_carolischulz3

Once the area was fully painted I just carefully removed the washi tape from the cardstock and that’s all! Here’s my ombré column background ready to use 🙂

cliquekits_artstudio_swanlake_carolischulz2

 

I wanted a monochromatic look for this layout, so I used a black & white photo and also coral paper and embellishments.

cliquekits_artstudio_swanlake_carolischulz5

I love these acetate roses, they are the perfect fit for the concept I had. I also fussy cut some flowers from an Cocoa Vanilla paper from a past kit, black & white again.

cliquekits_artstudio_swanlake_carolischulz6

 

cliquekits_artstudio_swanlake_carolischulz7

And here is the full layout all finished. I  love how it came out, it’s simple but yet colorful and funny.

cliquekits_artstudio_swanlake_carolischulz4

I hope you like this idea and give it a try, I really loved the result and had a lot of fun working on my ombré 🙂  See you soon in another blog post, have a lovely day!

XOXO – Caroli

5 thoughts on “Art Studio: Ombre Watercolors Column

  1. I love, love your background!… simple and beautiful

    Like

  2. I LOVE the watercolored background, so beautiful!!!

    Like

  3. Beautiful job Caroli!

    Like

  4. Adorable Layout !!

    Like

  5. Oh my goodness what a genius technique!! I will have to try that!! ❤

    Like

Leave a comment