Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Adding Sari Cloth to layouts

6 Comments

ArtStudio

Happy Monday ya’ll!  It’s Jody hanging out in the Art Studio and I’m very excited to be back on the Clique Kits blog sharing a layout I created with our fabulous October kit, Masquerade Ball!  The colors in this kit really inspired me to be bright & bold, which is way outside my comfort zone. When I saw all the purple in this fabulous Second City paper line by Basic Grey, I immediately thought of our daughter Sari’s first dance recital a couple of years ago.  The song with “Wild Child” and her outfit was purple leopard print and totally wild!  Here’s my layout and tips for creating with the gorgeous add-on ~ Recycled Silk Sari Stripes!

Did you happen to catch my daughter’s name??  Sari, which is pronounced SAY-REE, similar to Sarah with an “E” sound at the end.  So she’s not to be confused with the lovely Recycled Silk Sari Stripes in our School Store lol!

@jodyspiegelhoff @cliquekits @spiegelmomscraps @basicgrey @kellypurkey, #cliquekits, #scrapbooking #DIY #marqueradeball #octoberkit #spiegelmomscraps # #basicgrey #secondcity #sariclothe #sequins #pinkfresh #exclusiveflair @jodyspiegelhoff @cliquekits @spiegelmomscraps @basicgrey @kellypurkey, #cliquekits, #scrapbooking #DIY #marqueradeball #octoberkit #spiegelmomscraps # #basicgrey #secondcity #sariclothe #sequins #pinkfresh #exclusiveflair

I also added a large smattering of purple, yellow and black sequins to add some more texture to the layout.  I love using them on a variety of projects.  I find one of the best ways to attach them is using one of my go-to adhesives by Scrapbook Adhesives, DOTZ, which are similar to your commonly called ‘glue dot.’  These babies are sticky to the max!!

@jodyspiegelhoff @cliquekits @spiegelmomscraps @basicgrey @kellypurkey, #cliquekits, #scrapbooking #DIY #marqueradeball #octoberkit #spiegelmomscraps # #basicgrey #secondcity #sariclothe #sequins #pinkfresh #exclusiveflair

At first, I didn’t really know how I wanted to use the Sari Stripes on a layout.  They’re just beautiful and bold!  I decided the best way for me to use them on this layout is to add them in layers just like I do small pieces of paper or die cuts.  To make it easy to add layers in my layouts and cards, I always position my adhesive towards the middle of my piece to be adhered down.  This leaves plenty of room along the edges of my photo, patterned paper, etc. for me to tuck other embellishments behind.  To actually adhere the Sari Stripes, I tucked them where I wanted them and used my Tim Holtz Tiny Attacher to staple them right down.  This creates an interesting, dimensional and texture packed project!  Check out some close-ups!

@jodyspiegelhoff @cliquekits @spiegelmomscraps @basicgrey @kellypurkey, #cliquekits, #scrapbooking #DIY #marqueradeball #octoberkit #spiegelmomscraps # #basicgrey #secondcity #sariclothe #sequins #pinkfresh #exclusiveflair @jodyspiegelhoff @cliquekits @spiegelmomscraps @basicgrey @kellypurkey, #cliquekits, #scrapbooking #DIY #marqueradeball #octoberkit #spiegelmomscraps # #basicgrey #secondcity #sariclothe #sequins #pinkfresh #exclusiveflair

Alright, now that you’ve seen these fabulous Recycled Sari Stripes up close, I encourage you to try them on a project!  You get 5 feet of each purple, gold, green, aqua, and red for only $2.50!!  That’s a steal!

Don’t forget to about the Clique Kits October Challenge!  Fancy Pants is this October’s sponsor and they have a great prize for one lucky challenge participant!  You can check that out and link your projects to win HERE!  Until next time friends ….

Click. Connect. Create.

Web

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Gia Lau

Owner and Creative Director of Clique Kits Curator and Designer at Gia Aloha Blog and Etsy Shop

6 thoughts on “Adding Sari Cloth to layouts

  1. Pingback: Scrapbook with fabric! |

  2. This is so precious, Jody!! Love this layout in every way!!

    Like

  3. great layout,jody! i loved my sari strips, too – used one on the very first layout i made with this awesome kit!

    Like

  4. I love your layout. The added texture is so subtle but perfect!

    Like

  5. Love this! awesome use of the ribbon!

    Like

  6. Great addition of texture and I love how the fabric complements the story of this page!

    Like

Leave a comment