Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Geek Lab-U & I

3 Comments

Blog Image_Geek Lab

Hello friends!  Candace here to share a little Geek Lab with you.  Today I am going to show you how easy it is to place your journaling in the perfect spot on the base of your layout.

For the base of my layout I started with a plain white 8.5×11 piece of card stock.  I was inspired by a layout by Ali Edwards where she created a large title in the middle of the page with journaling to the right side and circles framing the bottom of the page.

I used various circle punches to punch out 3 inch and 2 inch circle photos of my hubby and I along with various papers from this months kit.  Without adhering the circles down I laid out the spread and embellishments to get a good idea of exactly where my title and journaling would go.

After the spread was completely laid out I measured where I wanted the title and journaling to fit.  Next, I opened a new 8.5 x 11 canvas in Photoshop.  I made sure that the rulers were visible by clicking the dropdown menu “View”.

Screenshot 2017-04-21 14.14.05.png

Next, again under the “view” drop down menu I selected “New Guide”.  I created one horizontal guide 1.5inches down from the top and one vertical guide 4.25inches over from the left.

Screenshot 2017-04-21 14.14.53.png

I created a text box and slid it right into the corner of the box the grid created.  By keeping my journaling within the bounds of the grid I knew that my journaling would not interfere with the title or any of my photos and embellishments.

Screenshot 2017-04-21 14.12.56.png

I printed out the journaling on the base of my layout then transferred the title, photos and embelishments.

ckU&I-1

It is just that easy to add your journaling into the perfect spot on your spreads!  Check out the close ups of how the layout came together.

ckU&I-2ckU&I-3ckU&I-5ckU&I-6

ckU&I-4

Thanks so much for stopping by today!  I hope this inspired you to use your computer and customize the journaling on your next layout.  Let me know if you have any questions!  You can check out this months kit in the store here.  Here is another quick look at the kit in case you missed it!

ck-may17-kit-1_1_orig.jpg

See ya soon!

Candace

3 thoughts on “Geek Lab-U & I

  1. Love all the circles and great tutorial!

    Like

  2. Great design!

    Like

  3. Beautiful page, Candace!

    Like

Leave a Reply

