Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Locker Room: 2016 Wrap-up

7 Comments

13719750_10206587473060803_1810682039379444486_o

 

Hello Clique Friends,

Happy New Year to you all!   As we begin this new year, it is also time to  look back at the last 365 days, and reflect on what we hold most dear.   So with that in mind, I set up to create a wrap-up layout using the beautiful “Hey, Sugar” kit.  All the beautiful and colorful papers are the perfect to create a layout about your most beloved memories.

ck_blog-jan17

 

 

To begin, i created a cut file/sketch that will allow me to add my top ten memories from 2016 without crowding the project.   After playing with a few combinations, i decided that circles will be the best option for the pictures, with a large title to balance the page.  Here is the sketch/cut file -feel free to download it-

 

ck-nathalie-desousa-january-2017-2016-cut-file-sketch

 

 

First I transformed all the pictures to black and white, and printed them to fit into 2.5 in squares.  Once i had the pictures cut to 2 in circles, I set the size of the circles to 2.25 in on the my Silhouette software, and had the circumference edges perforated.    A little bit of hand stitching along the perforated edge created a textured, and colorful background for my pictures.

 

ck-nathalie-desousa-january-2017-2016

 

For the title,  I used the top part of the cut file to cut one of the Simple Stories papers included in the main “Hey, Sugar” kit.   The numbers were backed using papers from the kit, as well as the Heart Day 6×6 pad (this month’s kit add on – available in the Clique store).  To ensure continuity, I hand stitched around the number cut-outs.

 

ck-nathalie-desousa-january-2017-2016-3

 

Before attaching the cut out to the page, I used my new typewriter (my Christmas present) to type the list of the top ten moments of 2016 -in chronological order- on the top part (above the circles) of the layout.  I had decided that the number cut-out will become a flap over the typed list.

ck-nathalie-desousa-january-2017-2016-4

 

The pictures then were attached to the layout.   I used the alphas included in this month’s kit to number the pictures.

ck-nathalie-desousa-january-2017-2016-5

 

I used a the puffy heart stickers, enamel dots, and embelishments included in the “Hey Sugar”  kit to add color, and interest along the pictures.   Since all the products in the kit coordinate, it was easy to color block the stitched circle with their respective puffy heart or enamel dot (i love this kit!).    Finally, i dug into last month’s “Wonderland” kit for a little tab as a way to create a marker for the layout’s flap.  Here is the complete layout:

 

ck-nathalie-desousa-january-2017-2016-2

 

Though, i am not a fan of multiple picture layouts, I got to say that i was pleased with the balance of picture to white space on the page.  I love how the pictures, and all the pieces from the “Hey Sugar” kit work together harmoniously.

Don’t forget to check out the “Hey, Sugar” kit in the Clique Kits website, as  well as the new  specialty kits  – Love Always, and Traveler’s notebook  – in the Clique Store.  You can use any of the DT’s code for a discount at checkout.

As always, I am only a comment away if you have any questions on how this came together.

Thanks for visiting, today!

 

ck-head-shot

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Locker Room: 2016 Wrap-up

  1. LOVE this idea…so practical and CUTE!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so awesome!!! I really LOVE IT!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is SO awesome! I love how you did the year and the circles with the numbers!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you, ladies!

    Like

  5. Beautiful, Nathalie!!!

    Like

  6. I have stitching as a passion, but I am always impressed to see stitching on a layout!! What a great job Nathalie!

    Like

  7. I love your hand stitching so very much. It adds color and texture and really turned out beautiful. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

