Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Art Studio: For the Love of Colour!

4 Comments

artstudioheader

Hello everyone its Melissa here again!  Today I have a layout featuring a photo of myself – which is something I don’t do very often as most of my pages are about my kids. The photo is a selfie I took of myself before going to a friend’s 40th birthday, and the theme was the 70’s.  I do love a good dress up!

I wanted to start with the black and white “XOXO paper”, and my vision was to whiten a portion of it and bring in colours from the Simple Stories “Life in Colour” collection.  I started by gathering my supplies, and things I forgot from my scrappy friend (I was making this at her house and forgot to bring my mixed media supplies!)

Supplies1

I also got my photo ready with a white cardstock border, and found two of my favourite cut-parts.  At this stage I wasn’t sure whether I’d use one of them or both of them.

Supplies2I started by spreading a thick layer of white gesso.

AS1

 

 

 

 

 

 

While I waited for the gesso to dry I painted three of the wood veneers with acrylic paint in colours that matched the collection.  I love how these turned out.AS2

Once the gesso was dry I applied watercolour paints and the pink gumball Paint Dabber with the tried and true much loved packaging technique.  I also let some of the water colours flow.  I love the painterly effect I create so easily.

AS3

Once that was dry I placed my photo, cut out the speech bubble from the cut apart card, layered one of the exclusive cut file laurel wreaths (cut on my Silhouette Cameo), and embellished to my hearts content!

Be Bright1And some close ups.  I loved getting that gorgeous exclusive acrylic camera on the page!

Be Bright3I love how all the embellishments pop off the white background. Be Bright2I’m in a tangled thread mood at the moment, and had to add some behind my butterflies.Be Bright4Thanks so much for looking, I hope I’ve inspired you to use your April kit in some different ways this month!

CK_DT1516_Siggies-_Melissa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Art Studio: For the Love of Colour!

  1. l really love that you started with the black and white background and added all the fun color. Cute page!!

    Like

  2. Amazing background!

    Like

  3. such a fun idea – i really love that background!

    Like

  4. fun layout!

    Like

Leave a Reply

