Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Clique Kits August Student of the Month – Amanda O’Banion

13 Comments

student-of-the-month

Hello! I am so excited to be guest designing for Clique Kits for the month of August. This month I will be sharing two of my projects here on the blog as well as several process videos and other kit inspired videos on my YouTube channel! You can view the process video for this particular layout at the bottom of this post.

This kit completely blew me away and I knew that it would be perfect for my summer photos, specifically photos of my flowers that I have taken over the spring and summer blooming season. I am so excited to share this layout that I created using the kit:

photo1fulllayout

For this project I decided to stick with a very light and simple layout while including some fun textural elements. I added some white gesso and let it dry into a very thick and chunky layer.  I contemplated using some distress ink and adding some color but I really liked how the pink blended into the background and created a soft muted center focal point.  The die-cut embellishment pack was perfect for adding layers to the coordinating 3×4 cards that I used in the grid design.  I love how the pops of gold drew attention to the coral pinks and oranges in the photos.

Photo2

The cut-apart cards below were perfect for this layout and are what gave me my initial inspiration for which photos to use.  Adding the Dear Lizzy washi tape helped add width to the journaling card while giving a very subtle hint of color. I added the Doodlebug twine on three of grid spaces as an additional textural element. The gold Thickers rounded out the page and brought it all together.

photo4

photo5

This layout was actually very simple to pull together because of the great kit components that I had to work with! The longest part of the entire process was waiting for the gesso to dry!

If you would like to see how I created this layout you can find the process video here!

I hope that you enjoyed this project! I can’t wait to continue to share the projects that I have created using this amazing kit!

13 thoughts on “Clique Kits August Student of the Month – Amanda O’Banion

  1. This is gorgeous! going to watch your process later.

    Like

  2. LOVE how soft and lovely this is!

    Like

  3. beautiful layout!! i love the soft colors – simple and stunning!!

    Like

  4. This is just beautiful!!! I can’t wait for my kit to arrive!

    Like

  5. This is gorgeous! I can’t wait for my kit!

    Like

  6. That layout is so pretty. I love it.

    Like

  7. Fabulous layout Amanda!!!

    Like

  8. Beautiful layout, and I loved your video. The pink background is so pretty with the grey!

    Like

  9. Gorgeous page!

    Like

  10. Anyways so inspired by you Lady! Gorgeous!!

    Like

  11. Pingback: August Student of the Month – Alicia King | Clique Kits Blog

Leave a Reply

