Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Designer in the Spotlight – Lacey Gasper

10 Comments

promcommittee

Good morning everyone!  Erica here with you today to bring you our June Designer in the spotlight!  I am so excited about this months designer and when I asked her I think she was a little surprised!  Some of you may already know this beautiful lady but for those of you who do not please say hello to Lacey Gasper!

Hi, I’m Lacey Gasper. I’m honored to be the Spotlight Designer this month for Clique Kits. Some of you may know, I am the Director of Graphic Design for Clique Kits. I help coordinate and design the digital files, as well as our exclusive journal cards, flair and other Clique Kits brand elements in our kit. 
Beyond Clique Kits, I am a freelance designer and graphic design student entering my final year at Academy of Art University. I am pursuing my 2nd BFA with a focus in identity and print design.
By day I’m an office manager for a commercial roofing company. I also volunteer at my husband’s dance studio and for his ballet company. We live in Fargo, ND with our sweet and adorable puppy, Spock; who is often the subject of my layouts.

 

11426728_10152795157662186_940840147_o

When Erica asked me to be Designer in the Spotlight I was quite shocked (and honored). Being with Clique Kits since we opened and launched has been such an AWESOME experience and I’m on the journey with two (plus two more) amazing woman. I love how we complement each other, support each other not only in business but as friends, and have a crazy wicked time (from afar).

Q. Tell us a little bit about your creative process.

A. The first step of my creative process is one of my favorite parts of the process, which  is researching. I love scouring Pinterest, design magazines, home & garden and fashion magazines for inspiration on patterns, designs, colors, etc. During this process (and after) I like to sketch out ideas. I do have a bunch of sketch journals I doodle in often though, so sometimes I pull ideas from past sketches. Then, I take those ideas to the computer.

Q. Where and when are you most creative?

A. When is an easy one to answer. I’m most create between 10am – 2pm. Specific, I know. Currently when I’m designing for graphic design elements, I sit in my living room at a TV tray (not the most comfortable, but my dog will bug me non-stop if I’m not there with him). For scrapbooking, I have a stand up desk in a SUPER messy scrapbook room and I love that everything is in reach. I really love creating in that space (though I WISH it were more clean.)

Q. What are some of your must have supplies?

A. Everything! Totally kidding. Lately the items I’ve been grabbing are color related items, such as Peerless watercolors, ink pads, and Gelatos. This makes me really excited for the color kit Clique Kits has developed releasing in July.

Q. Who are some of your influences?

A. My Mom. She has always been the creative one and I wouldn’t be where I am today without her influence and encouragement. Even though I may not be great at sewing (one of her many strengths), I found a craft and art that I love. She always had me trying different craft projects she dreamed up or found in books (no Pinterest in the 80s and the 90s, my mom was Pinterest). I loved our trips to the craft store to find a new project!

Q. 3 things people probably do not know about you.

A. (1) Out of college I decided to move to Los Angeles and pursue a career in fashion. I worked at a designers bridal shop where we offered wedding, bridesmaid and award show gowns in various styles. The client could customize the gowns choosing various fabric types, colors and accessories.
(2) My husband and I dated 9 years and 10 months before we tied the knot. He proposed to me on his birthday on our front door step where we shared our first kiss.
(3) At one point in my late 20s I could shoulder shrug 220 lbs. That was almost double my weight at the time. I had other limits I accomplished at the time, but none that I can quote off the top of my head.

Q. Favorite:

  • Book: I like different styles/genres. I’m into fantasy styled books in the YA department and romance novels. I am also a sucker for graphic design books and magazines. They line my shelves in my “creative room.”
  • Movie: As a teenager, Dirty Dancing. As an adult, I have several favorites including Pitch Perfect, She’s Out of my League, Avengers, Iron Man, and Shrek.
  • Candy: Gummy candies. I love sour patch kids and sour worms. I’m not a chocolate fan.
  • Drink: Specialty coffee drinks (I spend way too much money at Caribou Coffee and Starbucks), Mojito’s, tea, fruit infused water.
  • Music: Depends on my mood. Currently my favorite Spotify playlist is Mello Morning. I played at a craft weekend not too long ago and it was a fan favorite.
  • Color: This changes too with the season, my mood and trends. Currently Navy, Pink and Gold.
  • TV Show: Guilty pleasure, The Bachelor / The Bachelorette. True Blood (when it was on), Phineas and Ferb (I still love Disney cartoons), true story crime shows, and shows on HGTV.

Q. Can you share what helps you break out of a creative slump?

A. Actually creating. I was in a slump earlier this year and decided to carve out 10 – 30 minutes an evening to create for ME. Whether that was a graphic on the computer or a scrapbook page or card, I spent time creating for myself and not worried what it may look like or what others may think. It actually really helped get me out of my slump and create things I was truly happy with.

Q. What is a typical weekend like in the Gasper household?

A. Most of the year my husband works 7 days a week at his dance studio, so I typically don’t spend time with him, rather I spend time creating, on homework and playing with my pup. Though this summer he took Friday – Sunday off to spend with his family (me and our pup). In the summer, it is a weekend at the lake, visiting my family in the Twin Cities, hanging out with friends in town and making trips to the hardware store.

Q. Have you always had a love for design?

A. Yes! I’ve always been creative (I wasn’t the math and science kid). My mom started me on crafts at a young age and I loved crafting as a child. I also was into fashion design and architectural design. I would often practice designing either clothing or house floor plans as a kid. My first BA is in Theatre (and fashion) and I was really drawn to the design aspect of it towards the end. I always loved being on stage, but something about creating posters, programs, set designs, costume designs really grabbed me. I currently am finishing up my 2nd degree in Graphic Design. So design has definitely always been a part of my life.

Q. Besides graphic design and scrapbooking can you share some of your other passions with us!

A. I really enjoy dancing. It is how I met my husband and it’s a BIG part of my life. Fitness is also something I am passionate about, but have not made time for it in the last year. I have to remind myself it is as important as carving out 10 – 30 minutes of creative time.

Q. How would you describe your style?

A. Artsy. I like to explore with different mediums, techniques, tools, ideas, etc. I approach it as an art project and experiment. Yes, I like to document my photos and the story. But most the time there isn’t any lengthy story and it’s just an adorable picture I took of my puppy or my puppy and my husband or a selfie of myself. So I’m documenting the picture I love surrounded by my artsy elements

 

Lacey thank you so much for being our June Designer in the Spotlight and sharing a little bit about yourself with our readers!  Make sure you check out the Clique Kits shop for exclusive flair and cut files designed by the one and only Lacey Gasper!  Thanks so much for stopping today and we hope you enjoy the rest of your day!

Click. Connect.Create.

ck_varsityteam_erica (1)

 

10 thoughts on “Designer in the Spotlight – Lacey Gasper

  1. I loved reading about you, Lacey!!! 🙂 I hope my daughter will be like you when she grow up lol! I already introduced her to scrapbooking by bringing her in my craft area and always tell her that all of my craft stuff will be hers someday so I hope she’ll like/love it as much as I do hahaha
    Thank you for sharing a bit about yourself… you’re so awesome ❤

    Like

  2. I enjoyed reading more about you Lacey. I loved True Blood too, when it was on and read all of the books. 🙂 Also, I love sour patch kids and gummies. 🙂

    Like

  3. I love reading and getting to know you better, Lacey!! I love all the flairs you have created and the cute cut files!! You are truly talented and I love seeing what you create each month!!

    Like

  4. I loved getting to know you better, Lacey!

    Like

  5. I really LOVED reading all about you Lacey 🙂 You’ve done pretty amazing things throughout your life and now with CK!! It’s been a blast to watch you girls contribute to grow!! Bravo!!

    Like

  6. Lacey I love getting to know you better. You are so talented. I love your exclusive digital files and don’t get me started on the flair. Thanks for sharing YOU!

    Like

  7. yay, lacey! so much fun to read more about you!

    Like

  8. What an awesome creative life you have Lacey! Love your creations, can’t wait to see what you do in the spotlight!

    Like

  9. OMG— when Erica asked me if I had seen who she asked to be DIS this month I was like… my usual clueless self lately…and I finally made it over here to the blog to catch up and I’m like…. LACEYBUG!!!! The timing couldn’t be more perfect! Lacey was in on the ground floor with us- a founder of CK, we have not only worked her ass off, we have depended on and been there for each other sooooo much helping each other grow and step up out of our comfort zones and taught each other so much and now we are seeing each other fully blossoming finding our place and role in this Clique -and we are so In LOVE with the designer and leader Lacey has become and is still becoming! Can’t wait to keep seeing more and more great things from this lady! Love you Lace! Erica you’re da best for thinking of this! 🙂

    Like

  10. Love knowing you better Lacey! What a fun interview!!!

    Like

Leave a comment