Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Cut files to photo overlays

7 Comments

geeklab

Hello! Donna here to share a technique I often use when digi-scrapping, which you can easily adapt to paper scrapbooking. I love using photo overlays whether to blend on the background or photo. Today, I will show you how I incorporated it on my photo using the cut files included in the February kit, “Punxsutawney”.

photo-overlay-1

I used an editing software (Photoshop CS3) and I believe you can also do this with other versions or type of editing software, function names will just differ.

Okay! First, open your photo and duplicate or copy to another document (it’s important that you don’t edit your original). Save it and we can continue on with the editing. At this point, you can either tweak your photo (leveling, running actions, etc) or leave it as is. I usually run a few photoshop actions to achieve a certain look on my photos. But most of the time I just tweak the leveling (to adjust brightness and contrast etc) and sharpen it a bit. But that isn’t our topic for today 😀

photo-overlay-1a

Moving forward… open the cut files you saved in your computer. I used the heart and wordart “Sprinkled with love”

photo-overlay-2

Drag the elements (cut files) to the photo. Once transferred/copied, you have to resize the elements according to your liking. Make sure that you are holding the shift key (PC) to avoid image size distortion.

photo-overlay-3

Now the fun part begins! Let’s play with blending mode. You can check out what blending modes are here.

In digital scrapbooking, blending mode is one of my favorite things to use. I ALWAYS use this, one way or another.

With this photo though, after playing around with the word art and heart elements for a bit, I only decided to use “OVERLAY” blending mode to the heart element. I liked how the heart looked underneath the colorful wordart. If you take away the blending mode, the heart’s color is too vibrant and the part of the word art is not too visible.

photo-overlay-4

Once you’re satisfied, flatten your photo and save it to the size you prefer (jpg/jpeg format, high resolution). Then print.

This is how it will look like on your printed photo.

DonnaEspiritu-FebruaryKit-layout3g

and here is my page

DonnaEspiritu-FebruaryKit-layout3

Hope you liked what I shared with you today! I will be back in a few days with more projects using the February kit.

Thanks and have a great day!

CK_VarsityTeam_Donna

7 thoughts on “Cut files to photo overlays

  1. Fabulous tutorial Donna AND I’m in love with your layout, every single little detail is amazing!

    Like

  2. That is amazing! LOVE how easy you made that!! TFS!!!

    Like

  3. thanks ladies!

    Like

  4. donna, this layout is so stunningly gorgeous. you have true talent!!

    Like

  5. I love this tip and can’t wait to try it myself! beautiful!

    Like

  6. Wow, great information! I never used blending mode. I will have to give it a try.

    Like

  7. I had never thought of that! What a very cool technique, thank you for sharing it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

