Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Yearbook-Project Life Spread

5 Comments

Well, ladies, it seems we are quickly winding down the year.  This year, I decided to embark on the Project Life journey, and I want to share a few things with you in this post.  First, I want to start by saying I tried doing Project Life a couple of years ago, but I tried to do it on a month to month basis.  That just didn’t work for me.  I did finally complete that year about six months later.  This year, I decided to do it weekly, and I love it so much more.  Project Life has become my therapy.  I honestly don’t think I could have made it through the year without doing it.

For today, I wanted to share with you a layout I made for Week 34.  Yes, Week 34.  That’s where I am right now.  I realize I should be finishing up Week 52 but  you know what?  Life happens.

#cliquekits, #projectlife

This layout features the week we went elk hunting.  We didn’t get anything, but it’s always fun to spend time together as a family.

Week34leftHere is the left page.

Week34Right

Here is the right.

So, I’m a newbie to Project Life since this was the first year I attempted it on a weekly basis.  Here are a few things that I learned.  I hope these can help you if you decide to take this project up in the new year.

*I organized my Project Life weekly starting with Friday.  For example this spread covers September 5-11.  The following week will be September 12-18.  I just found that easier for me.

*I don’t try to match everything in this album.  I’m sort of a haphazard person, and I don’t like everything perfect and matching.  I just choose embellishments and papers that I like and that fit the mood of the photos.

*You are most likely going to get behind when you do this project and that’s OKAY.  Life will happen.  You will get busy.  You will not be able to complete every week on time.  The best thing you can do to help yourself keep going is keep your photos organized.  I happen to use iPhoto to organize mine.  My photos are arranged by dates, events, faces, etc.  It’s all there and it’s chronological.  When I had a PC way back in the day, I uploaded photos into folders arranged by month and year.  Don’t forget, no matter whether you have a Mac or PC you will still be able to find out the photo information by right clicking on it.  It will give you the image information including the date it was taken.

*Project Life does not require perfection.  Life is not perfect this project won’t be either.  There will be a week or two where you don’t take any photos, or you will have a week where you just want to get it done.  If you don’t have enough photos, combine them with another week, or do the unthinkable…skip the week.  If you just want to get the week done and it’s not your best work, big deal.  You documented it anyway and that’s more important than it being exceptional.

*Sometimes you round corners and sometimes you don’t.

*Every single Clique Kits Kit can be adapted for Project Life.  There is always a sheet of cards that can be cut up to make your spread.  That is one of the things I love about these kits.  They are so versatile.

*Have fun, and get everyone involved.  This project is about your family.  If you are a single girl, I’m pretty sure you have friends you love and value.  Include them.   Let them help you with photos.  My husband has learned to take photos for me for our Project Life album.  He even gives me stuff that I can journal about.  I can also convince him to take photos by telling him it’s for Project Life (even if it’s not…please do not tell him).  My kids help too.  They answer questions or write things down that I ask them to.  They love looking back through the pages.  To be honest, we all do.

I could keep going, but I’ll stop there.  I really hope I have inspired you all to document the upcoming year whether it’s through Project Life or with traditional scrapbooking.  After all, this is why we do this except for the pretty paper and embellishments.  Those are pretty cool too.  I wish you all the very, very best and happiest upcoming year!

Happy 2015!

5 thoughts on “Yearbook-Project Life Spread

  1. I’m so glad you wrote this Mariah! I JUST finished posting a question in the Clique about PL! This has given me lots of tips! I tried it last year and only made it to week 10, but I love the idea of it and I want to have those daily memories from when my kids are growing up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE your pages!! They are awesome, love the papers and embellies you used.

    (I do not do project life as it’s just hubby and I and everyday would be the same, get up, go to work, come home, dinner, and bedtime………..snooze fest!!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You take great photos. Nice tips. I am going to challenge myself to create one PL page per month. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. love your fun spread!!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Yearbook: Project Life Spreads Weeks 8-9 | Clique Kits Blog

Leave a Reply

