Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Documenting those memories

6 Comments

yearbook2

Hi scrappers! This month is a hard month for me and my family. When people say, “time flies”, it’s true. I can’t believe that it’s been almost 10 years since my grand-father passed away from Prostate cancer. It seems like my heart is finally healing a little bit more over the years. A few years ago, I started documenting things on a word document that I didn’t want to forget. As I was typing, I found myself writing things from the past and merging memories from the present. Once I was finished, I saved the document and never looked at it again until just recently. And the only reason why I looked at it was because of Poppy’s anniversary coming up on December the 9th.

Since my grand-father loved his “flairs” (flowers), I decided to use the beautiful patterned paper from Heidi Swapp’s September Skies collection. So far this year, the “Enchanted Meadow” kit is my favorite by Clique Kits! Wow, I seriously could look at this collection all day. It is simply beautiful! Once I adhered the little die cut cards and photo to the layout, I added the gorgeous die cuts at the bottom. I stamped “Shine” and a little diamond below the cluster of embellishments to pull the layout together. I love this layout! Simple, but yet striking, leaving the main focus on the journaling.

shine, @nmartel,#cliquekits, @cliquehits, #heidi_swapp, @heidi_swapp, #scrapbooking #journaling #stamps #scrapbookinglayout , #sweetstampshop, @sweetstampshop, Enchanted Meadow Kit

I often wondered how designers were able to get their journaling lined up on the page the way they do… And I have discovered an easy way to solve the problem. Simply print out your journaling on white cardstock and scrap “around” the journaling. Problem solved.

And here’s a little close up. I love my little cluster of embellishments here. Normally, I fuss about where to place my embellishments, but this layout practically scrapped itself. 🙂

#enchantedmeadow, @cliquekits, #cliquekits, @nmartel, #scrapbooking, #heidi_swapp, #stamping, #journaling

Thanks for stopping by today and reading my story. I hope I’ve inspired you to document your beautiful memories soon!

CK_VarsityTeam_Nicole

6 thoughts on “Documenting those memories

  1. Such a simple but stunning layout!!

    Like

  2. This is beautiful, both the words and the design.

    Like

  3. oh Nicole – the journaling on this was so beautiful it made me cry! I definitely have to make a layout like this about my Dad. Thanks for the inspiration & for sharing your heart xx

    Like

  4. beautiful layout and beautiful journaling. just stunning.

    Like

  5. Posts like this warm my heart and remind me what I love about this journey of documenting and sharing ! Beautiful layout and journaling!

    Like

  6. This is just a beautiful layout and tribute.

    I lost my grandfather 2 years ago this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

