Clique Kits

Click. Connect. Create.

Yearbook: A Hometown Mini Album

5 Comments

yearbook2

Hi! It’s Aliza here, with my first Clique Kits blog post, so you probably don’t know me too well yet. So here are some things about me. First of all, I live in New York City. Second of all, I tend to repeat myself a lot. And third, one of the things that I often repeat in blog posts and scrapbook pages is that I love and hate living in New York. City life is great for raising kids.  We walk and ride bikes everywhere. I see the Statue of Liberty on my way to work. It’s New York City! But, oh, how I miss trees and open space and air and solitude.

As soon as I saw that Kelly Purkey’s line would be in this month’s kit, I knew exactly what I would do with it, before it was even in my hands. This summer, I was able to participate in Big Picture Classes’ iPhone Photography class. When I first saw everyone else’s photos, my heart hurt a little bit as they shared photos of big open spaces, and so. much. nature. But, then I became determined to use the opportunity to find beauty and love for New York city again.  Seriously, looking at the world through a camera lens can change everything. I was pretty happy with how some of my photos turned out, so I used this kit to compile my favorites into a mini album.

NYC Album cover, @alizadeutsch @cliquekits #cliquekits #scrapbooking #masqueradeball

  NYC Album, @alizadeutsch @cliquekits #cliquekits #scrapbooking #masqueradeball

I wanted to keep my album pretty simple, so I used just a few embellishments and letter stickers from the kit to express a general reminder to look around and find beauty.

NYC Album, @alizadeutsch @cliquekits #cliquekits #scrapbooking #masqueradeball

 NYC Album, @alizadeutsch @cliquekits #cliquekits #scrapbooking #masqueradeball

NYC Album, @alizadeutsch @cliquekits #cliquekits #scrapbooking #masqueradeball

NYC Album,  @alizadeutsch @cliquekits #cliquekits #scrapbooking #masqueradeball

NYC Album, @alizadeutsch @cliquekits #cliquekits #scrapbooking #masqueradeball

 nyc album last page

 Taking photos is a great way to look at your usual surroundings with fresh eyes. And mini albums are a great way to collect some photos that you love, just because.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

CK_VarsityTeam-Aliza

5 thoughts on “Yearbook: A Hometown Mini Album

  1. Aliza, it is so nice to meet you!! Thank you for sharing a part of you!! I love your mini album….it’s such an adorable way to document those important moments for all of us. Great job!!

    Like

  2. Aliza thank you for sharing this meaningful project- your pictures are fantastic and the October Kit is definitely perfect to showcase them! I grew up in New York and NYC is STILL one of my absolute favorite places to be and where I probably feel most alive. I live in Hawaii now and gosh dang do I miss NY’s food! This is a common topic of my status updates! Craving Bagel Boss bagels, Vincent’s pizza, and black&white cookies from my neighborhood bakery! Ok-enough about that. Everything always has a cost! Even living in ‘paradise’ or the most awesome city ever! Scrapbooking has made me more grateful and able to look at what I have instead of what I’m missing. xHUGS Gia

    Like

  3. Great mini Aliza!! Visiting NYC is on my list of things to do!! I love how you documented your city!

    Like

  4. Such a fab mini Aliza. You have really showcased some awesome photos!

    Like

  5. Very cute mini! I love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

